Skip to content

Your current setup

Tally and spreadsheets or ProEMS? They do different jobs, so you may need both.

Tally keeps a school's books, and a spreadsheet usually keeps the list of which student owes what. ProEMS does the second job properly: fee structures, concessions, late fines, receipts, student-wise dues and online payment by students, joined to attendance, exams and report cards. It is not accounting software, and it has no Tally integration or accounting export. For many schools the honest answer is both: ProEMS for student-level fees, Tally for the books, with the accountant posting entries from ProEMS's collection reports. If your fees already sit in Tally and nobody is struggling, you may not need to move anything.

On this page

ProEMS and Tally and spreadsheets at a glance

ProEMS compared with Tally and spreadsheets
ComparedProEMSTally and spreadsheets
Pricing and terms
PriceGold is ₹169 and Platinum is ₹249 per student per year before 18% GST, with a ₹12,000 yearly minimum. For 500 students: ₹84,500 on Gold, ₹1,24,500 on Platinum, before GST. Hosting and the apps are included. SMS and payment gateway fees are charged at cost.TallyPrime Silver: ₹22,500 + 18% GST once, for one user on one computer. Gold: ₹67,500 + GST once, for many users on a local network. Rental starts at ₹750 + GST a month.[1, 2]
After the first yearThe yearly subscription is the price. There is no separate hosting or set-up charge.Tally Software Services (TSS) is included for year one. Renewal is ₹4,500 + GST a year on Silver and ₹13,500 + GST on Gold.[1, 3]
Trial and termsOne-month trial. No set-up fee and no lock-in.A 7-day free trial of the full product.[4]
Fees and payments
Fee structure and concessionsYes:Set per class with frequency, discounts and concessions (Gold).Partly:Tally's school page lists fee demand generation, concessions and parent-wise fee ledgers. It does not mention class-wise fee structures.[5]
Automatic late finesYes:Yes. Late fines are added automatically (Gold).Not stated:The school page does not mention fines.[5]
Receipts and bank paymentsYes:PDF receipts for cash, cheque, bank and online payments, and an email receipt for online payments. Bank CSV upload and suspense payments (Gold).Yes:Instant digital fee receipts.[5] Bank statements import from Excel or CSV for reconciliation.[6]
Online payment by studentsPartly:Students pay on the web through the school's own gateway account. Parents cannot pay online, and the apps take no payments (Gold).Not stated:The school page does not mention online fee payment.[5]
Dues, defaulters and remindersYes:Fee dashboard, forecast and payment history (Gold). Defaulter details as PDF or Excel, and SMS to defaulters (Platinum). No WhatsApp.Yes:Outstanding fees and defaulters.[5] Pending bills with overdue days, and reminders by email or WhatsApp from the outstanding reports.[7]
Books, GST and payroll
Ledgers and financial statementsNo:No. ProEMS is not accounting software.Yes:Balance sheet, income and expenditure reports, budgets and vendor accounts.[5]
GSTNo:No GST returns.Yes:Creates GST-compliant invoices and prepares GSTR-1 and GSTR-3B.[8]
Bank reconciliation of the booksPartly:Only the student side: bank CSV upload and suspense payments for fees (Gold).Yes:Matches bank statement lines to book entries and creates vouchers for missing ones.[6]
PayrollPartly:Payroll heads, items and salary lists with CSV export. No payslip PDF (Platinum).Yes:Payslips, and PF, ESI, professional tax, NPS and income tax reports and forms.[9]
Audit trailPartly:Change logs and user logs for the school's records.Yes:A log of alterations to vouchers, with the user name and a timestamp.[10]
Moving data between themNo:No Tally integration and no accounting export.Yes:Imports masters and transactions from Excel using templates, and exports to Excel, PDF, CSV or XML.[4]
Students, parents and apps
Records, attendance, admissions, examsYes:Student records, attendance, exams and mark entry (Silver and Gold). Admissions from enquiry to enrolment (Platinum).Not stated:The school accounting page covers fees, payroll and finance. Another Tally page lists student data, admissions, attendance and exams but does not say which product provides them.[5, 11]
Report cards, certificates, TCYes:Report card PDFs, a rank list with percentile, certificates from the school's Word templates, and the TC from the student record (Gold).Not stated:Tally's education ERP page lists report cards but not certificates or TCs, and does not say which product provides them.[11]
Parent and student logins, appsPartly:Logins on the web and Android and iOS apps for staff, students and parents, in English only. The apps have no admin screens.Not stated:Not mentioned on Tally's school page.[5]
Stock, hostel and transport
Inventory and stockNo:No. ProEMS has no inventory module.Yes:Stock items, godowns and stock summaries, kept alongside the accounts.[4]
HostelNo:No. ProEMS has no hostel module.Not stated:Not mentioned on the Tally pages we read.[5, 11]
TransportPartly:Records of routes, vehicles, drivers, pickup points and transport users (Platinum). No GPS or live bus tracking.Not stated:The school page mentions transport only as a service that may attract GST.[5]
Data, users and hosting
Where the data livesAWS Mumbai. Each school has its own database and address, such as yourschool.proems.in. Daily backups with 7-day point-in-time recovery.TallyPrime works offline and online.[4] Backups go to a local drive or to TallyDrive, Tally's cloud storage.[12]
Users and permissionsYes:Read-only or full edit rights for each module, for each role. No two-factor login.Yes:Silver is for one computer at a time and Gold for several users on a local network, with the same features.[1] User passwords and role-based permissions by voucher type.[10]
Without internetNo:No. ProEMS is a web application and needs a connection.Yes:Core accounting works offline. Internet is needed for GST filing, e-invoicing, e-way bills and Connected Banking.[4]

Checked on 21 October 2026 against Tally Solutions' own website and help pages (listed under Sources). These are mostly marketing pages. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say either way. It does not mean Tally lacks the feature.

Which should you choose?

Choose Tally and spreadsheets if

  • your accounts are already in Tally, your accountant is happy, and fees fit in student-wise ledgers there.
  • you want each fee receipt entered once, straight into the books. With ProEMS beside Tally, totals are entered twice.
  • you need payroll with payslips and statutory forms, GST returns, bank reconciliation or stock records. ProEMS does none of these.
  • your school is very small, one person does the office work, and a Tally file plus a sheet takes less time than learning a new system.
  • you have no budget for a subscription. ProEMS has a ₹12,000 yearly minimum before GST.

Choose ProEMS if

  • fees run on classes, instalments, concessions and automatic late fines, and the student-wise sheet no longer matches the books.
  • students should pay online and get a receipt without anyone in the office matching the bank statement.
  • the same office also handles attendance, exams, report cards and certificates, and you want them on the record the fees use.
  • parents and students need logins, and the office is tired of answering fee and attendance queries by phone.
  • your accountant wants a daily collection abstract (Platinum) to post from, instead of reading a spreadsheet.

Can a school run its fees on Tally and a spreadsheet?

Yes, and plenty of schools do. The jobs split cleanly. Tally keeps the books: ledgers, vouchers, GST, payroll and statutory reports. A spreadsheet keeps the list of which student owes what. Tally Solutions also markets TallyPrime for school fee accounting, listing fee demand generation, instant digital receipts, concessions, parent-wise fee ledgers and defaulter reports.[5] So some schools keep the whole fee process in Tally and use no spreadsheet at all.

The weak spot is that two tools hold two halves of the same money. Tally knows what came in. The spreadsheet knows who it came from. Someone makes them agree, usually at month end. The spreadsheet half also has the limits we set out in our Excel comparison. Excel does not support relational data, so nothing links one file to another, and in a shared network folder only one person can edit at a time.[13]

Where is Tally stronger?

Tally is stronger on everything that is accounting. That is a long list, and ProEMS does not try to match it.

  • Books of account. Balance sheet, income and expenditure reports, budgets and vendor accounts.[5]
  • GST. It creates GST-compliant invoices and prepares GSTR-1 and GSTR-3B.[8] Whether your school has GST work at all depends on what it supplies. A government GST flyer (CBEC, now CBIC) lists services by an educational institution to its students, faculty and staff as nil-rated,[14] while Tally's page says transport, canteen or sale of goods may attract GST.[5] Your CA decides what applies.
  • Bank reconciliation. It imports bank statements from Excel or CSV, matches them to book entries and creates vouchers for missing ones.[6]
  • Payroll with statutory forms. Payslips, plus PF, ESI, professional tax, NPS and income tax reports, including Form 16 and Form 24Q.[9] ProEMS payroll (Platinum) has pay heads, items and salary lists with CSV export, and no payslip PDF.
  • Audit trail. A log of alterations to vouchers with the user name and timestamp.[10]
  • Reminders. Payment reminders by email or WhatsApp straight from the outstanding reports.[7] ProEMS sends SMS to defaulters (Platinum) and has no WhatsApp messaging.
  • Stock. TallyPrime keeps inventory alongside the accounts: stock items, godowns and stock summaries.[4] ProEMS has no inventory module.
  • Offline. Core accounting works without internet.[4]

One thing to check if you are comparing seriously. Tally's site also markets education software with student data, admissions, attendance, exams, report cards and timetables. The page does not say which Tally product provides those features or what it costs.[11] Ask a Tally partner exactly what is included before you compare it with ProEMS.

Where is ProEMS stronger?

ProEMS is stronger on the student side of fees, and on everything around the fee record. Each point names the plan it needs.

  • Fee set-up (Gold). Fees per class with frequency, one-time charges, discounts and concessions. A scheduled job adds late fines automatically.
  • Payments (Gold). Cash, cheque, bank and online. Students pay on the web through the school's own Razorpay, Stripe, Paytm, HDFC (via CCAvenue) or PNB account. Suspense payments, bank CSV upload, and PDF receipts.
  • Dues (Gold and Platinum). Gold has the fee dashboard, forecast, head report and payment history. Platinum adds the daily collection abstract, collection by date range, student fee statement, concession detail, defaulter details as PDF or Excel, and SMS to defaulters.
  • The rest of the school (Silver to Platinum). Attendance, exams, report cards, rank lists with percentile, certificates and TCs, admissions and logins for staff, students and parents all use the same student record. The accounting side has no such record to share.
  • Control (Silver). Read-only or full edit rights for each module and each role.

What ProEMS does not do

ProEMS is not accounting software. It has no Tally integration and no accounting export, no ledgers, balance sheet or GST returns, and no payslip PDF. It has no hostel or inventory module, transport is records only with no GPS, and there is no WhatsApp messaging and no two-factor login. Parents cannot pay fees online, the interface is English only, and the apps have no admin screens.

Can ProEMS replace Tally?

No. ProEMS has no Tally integration and no accounting export, and it is not accounting software. A school that has accounts to keep uses ProEMS beside Tally or another accounting package, not in place of it.

Some school ERPs do sell a Tally connector. MyLeadingCampus lists "Tally Integration" at ₹32,000 as an optional one-time extra, and names Tally among the integrations of its Enterprise plan.[15] If fee entries must reach Tally automatically, ProEMS is not the right choice today. The cost of the split is that totals are entered twice: each payment per student in ProEMS, and the day's totals in Tally.

How do you run ProEMS and Tally together?

This is the setup we would suggest. It is a workflow, not an accounting standard.

  1. Record every payment in ProEMS

    Cash, cheque, bank and online payments are all recorded against a student, so the student-wise dues are always current. Students' online payments arrive already recorded.

  2. Close the day from a ProEMS report

    On Platinum, use the daily collection abstract or collection by date range. On Gold, use the head report and payment history. Your accountant posts the totals to Tally. ProEMS does not produce a Tally import file, so whether to post by fee head, payment mode or student is for your accountant to decide.

  3. Reconcile the bank in Tally

    Tally imports the bank statement and matches it to the book entries.[6] In ProEMS, bank CSV upload and suspense payments handle the student side of bank credits.

  4. Compare totals at month end

    Set ProEMS's collection total for the month against the fee income and bank balance in Tally. A gap means a missed or doubled entry.

  5. Keep payroll, GST and statutory work in Tally

    ProEMS payroll has no payslip PDF, and it does no GST work.

Ask your CA how fee income, advances and concessions should be booked. ProEMS gives you the numbers. It does not decide the entries.

What do Tally and ProEMS cost?

They are priced differently because they are different things. Tally is a licence, paid once or rented by the month. ProEMS is a yearly subscription for each student.

OptionWhat you payWhat it covers
TallyPrime Silver₹22,500 + GST once, with year-one TSS. ₹4,500 + GST a year after.[1, 3]Accounts, GST, banking, payroll and reports for one user on one computer.
TallyPrime Gold₹67,500 + GST once, with year-one TSS. ₹13,500 + GST a year after.[1, 3]The same features for several users on a local network.
TallyPrime rentalSilver ₹750 a month or ₹8,100 for 12 months. Gold ₹2,250 a month or ₹24,300 for 12 months. TSS is included.[1, 2]The same, rented.
ProEMS Gold, 500 students₹84,500 a year before GST.Records, attendance, fees, exams, report cards, portals, apps and hosting.
ProEMS Platinum, 500 students₹1,24,500 a year before GST.Gold plus daily collection abstract, defaulters with SMS, admissions, library, transport records and payroll.
Tally prices are from Tally Solutions' cost guide of 13 July 2026 and its price pages, before 18% GST. ProEMS prices are from the published list, billed annually.

A school that uses ProEMS and Tally pays for both. We are not saying ProEMS is cheaper. The question is whether the student-level work in your office, and the parent queries, are worth the yearly fee. The pricing page has volume bands and a calculator.

If your school is still on Tally.ERP 9: Tally says TSS renewal on Tally.ERP 9 is discontinued from 16 August 2026, and that Tally.ERP 9 is not being discontinued and will continue to work.[16] That is a decision for your accountant and Tally partner, and it does not change anything about ProEMS.

Sources

Every fact on this page about rules, prices or other products comes from one of these. We read each one on the date shown and will update this page when they change.

  1. Tally Solutions (vendor website). The Total Cost of TallyPrime in India: What You Actually Pay For (tallysolutions.com). 13 July 2026. Read 21 October 2026.Vendor page. Prices exclude 18% GST and can change.
  2. Tally Solutions (vendor website). Buy TallyPrime Silver & Gold: Rental or Lifetime Plans (tallysolutions.com). Read 21 October 2026.Vendor price page. Licence and rental prices are shown + 18% GST.
  3. Tally Solutions (vendor website). Stay connected. Stay compliant. Renew your TSS. (tallysolutions.com). Read 21 October 2026.Vendor price page. Prices exclude 18% GST.
  4. Tally Solutions (vendor website). Understanding TallyPrime (tallysolutions.com). Read 21 October 2026.Vendor page. It says TallyPrime 7.1 was the current release as of July 2026.
  5. Tally Solutions (vendor website). School Accounting: Fee & Payroll Management (tallysolutions.com). Read 21 October 2026.Vendor marketing page, undated.
  6. Tally Solutions (help site). Keep Your Books in Sync with Bank: Bank Reconciliation in TallyPrime (help.tallysolutions.com). Last updated 14 August 2026. Read 21 October 2026.
  7. Tally Solutions (vendor website). How to Track Customer Pending Payments in TallyPrime (tallysolutions.com). 13 July 2026. Read 21 October 2026.
  8. Tally Solutions (vendor website). GST Software for Educational Services (tallysolutions.com). Read 21 October 2026.Vendor marketing page, undated.
  9. Tally Solutions (help site). Payroll in TallyPrime (help.tallysolutions.com). Last updated 26 May 2026. Read 21 October 2026.
  10. Tally Solutions (vendor website). Does TallyPrime Provide Strong Enough Audit Trails and Controls to Satisfy External Auditors? (tallysolutions.com). 2 June 2026. Read 21 October 2026.
  11. Tally Solutions (vendor website). Best Education ERP Software (tallysolutions.com). Read 21 October 2026.Vendor marketing page, undated. It does not say which Tally product provides the education features it lists.
  12. Tally Solutions (help site). Backup and restore in TallyPrime (help.tallysolutions.com). Last updated 2 March 2026. Read 21 October 2026.
  13. Microsoft Support. Using Access or Excel to manage your data (support.microsoft.com). Read 21 October 2026.
  14. Central Board of Excise and Customs (now CBIC), hosted by the GST Council. GST on Education Services (gstcouncil.gov.in). Read 21 October 2026.Undated flyer that quotes Notification 12/2017-Central Tax (Rate) as amended. Check the current notification before relying on it.
  15. MyLeadingCampus (vendor website). School ERP Pricing (MyLeadingCampus) (myleadingcampus.com). Read 21 October 2026.Vendor pricing page. The page title says 2025 and it shows no update date.
  16. Tally Solutions (vendor website). Upgrade Tally.ERP 9 to TallyPrime (tallysolutions.com). Read 21 October 2026.

FAQ

Common questions

Short answers. The sections above have the detail and the sources.

Is ProEMS accounting software?
No. ProEMS keeps student-level fees, attendance, exams and the other records of a school or college. It has no ledgers, balance sheet, GST returns or bank reconciliation of the books, and no Tally integration or accounting export. Keep your books in Tally or another accounting package.
Can ProEMS export fee entries to Tally?
No. ProEMS has no Tally integration and no accounting export. Your accountant posts the totals in Tally from ProEMS reports: the head report and payment history on Gold, and the daily collection abstract and collection by date range on Platinum.
Can Tally manage school fees on its own?
Tally Solutions' school page lists fee demand generation, digital receipts, concessions, parent-wise fee ledgers and defaulter reports, so many schools do manage fees in Tally. The page does not mention late fines, online payment or logins for parents and students. ProEMS has those, and also keeps attendance, exams and report cards.
Can I import fee entries into Tally from Excel?
Tally's own FAQ says TallyPrime can import masters and transactions from Excel using standard templates or custom mapping. ProEMS does not produce a file in Tally's format, so your accountant or Tally partner would build the sheet. Ask them what format Tally needs before you plan around it.
Does a school have to charge GST on fees?
It depends on what the school supplies. A government GST flyer (CBEC, now CBIC) lists services by an educational institution to its students, faculty and staff as nil-rated, and Tally's page says transport, canteen or sale of goods may attract GST. Ask your CA what applies to your school.
Which ProEMS plan do I need to work alongside Tally?
Gold for fee set-up, collection, online payment by students, receipts, the head report and payment history. Platinum if your accountant wants the daily collection abstract or defaulter reports with SMS.
Our school is still on Tally.ERP 9. Does that matter for ProEMS?
No. ProEMS does not connect to Tally in any version. Tally says Tally.ERP 9 continues to work, and that TSS renewal on it is discontinued from 16 August 2026. Ask your accountant or Tally partner whether to upgrade to TallyPrime.

See ProEMS for yourself, then decide.

Book a free demo. We'll walk you through the modules that matter to you on a demo school, and answer every question you bring.

  • Free demo
  • Shown on a demo school
  • Ask us anything